Vermont Veterinary Medical Association

Dave Walker Award

Dr. David Walker was a second generation Vermont veterinarian. He practiced with his father in Morrisville for many years. He cared passionately about his profession and was intent on making it the best it could be. Dr. Walker wore many hats. He served as Vermont State Veterinarian at a  time when the State Veterinarian was also expected to serve as VVMA Secretary/Treasurer.  While serving the VVMA, Dr. Walker organized the continuing education meetings for the organization. Everything from securing speakers to arranging venues and lecture notes, if anything had to be done, “let Dave do it” became the motto.  He was also the designated  representative for veterinarians in the state legislature. He was often called upon to testify in veterinarians’ behalf, and did so tirelessly.

Dr. Walker served for approximately 15 years, and became a highly respected man, across the state and the nation. He served on the Board of Directors of the national State Veterinarians Association. 

Unfortunately, his life was taken in a tragic motor vehicle accident. The veterinary community lost a powerful advocate for our profession, but even more important, we lost a wonderful man.

In honor of the principles, devotion, commitment and spirit of this highly respected Vermont veterinarian, the VVMA established the Dave Walker Award in 1991. This award is not presented annually. It is reserved for those who have served the Vermont veterinary community and professional organizations in the same spirit as Dr. Dave Walker. Past recipients are listed below.

Congratulations to Dr. Virginia Clarke (Richmond Animal Hospital), recipient of the 2017 Dave Walker Award given at the VVMA Winter CE Meeting!

2017 Dr. Virginia Clarke
2014 Dr. Elizabeth Alton
2011 Dr. Juliann Moenter
2010 Dr. Susan Hayden
2009 Dr. Michael Wood
2006 Dr. Paul Howard
2004 Dr. H. Clinton Reichard
2003 Dr. Ronald Veenema​
2002 Drs. Lisa Nelson and Thomas Munschauer
2001 Dr. Colleen Bloom
1999 Dr. Samuel Hutchins
1998 Dr. Anthony Ellis
1996 Dr. Robert Treat
1995 Dr. Donald Peddie
1993 Dr. J. Clyde Johnson
1992 Dr. John Stetson
1991 Dr. Jon Stokes